June 21, 2024

Cotton Claw – Volutes



There’s something special about the way the French produce music. They find a way to create fresh sounds without ever letting go of their roots and they do it so consistently that you almost feel bad for generalising.

Cotton Claw is the chemical concoction compounded by four French producers who have joined forces to revolutionise club music. Lilea Narrative, Zo aka La Chauve-Souris, YoggyOne and Zerolex have managed to blend different genres into something that can only be described as an experience. The spectrum of noticeable influences is broad, ranging from classic synths that reminisce of Jean Michel Jarre to heavy post-dubstep beats.

Cotton Claw follows up the release of their Dusted EP with Volutes, their first LP.

The concept behind Volutes is clear from start to finish. The elements in the first track Leaps and Bounds work as some sort of index, almost foreshadowing the rest of the album. The individual elements that compose a track can easily be traced back to their roots, but as a whole they become the structure to something completely new. This is a remarkable feat and it is exactly what Cotton Claw aims to achieve.

The sounds are organic, much like you would expect from a live performance. This is the ethos behind the project, music that sounds like it was being played live. Four separate forces working as a unit, improvising, collaborating, evolving and making genre labels almost obsolete.


  1. Leaps and Bounds
  2. Grainy
  3. Hornets
  4. Sunset Glow
  5. Razzle Dazzle
  6. Noulafe
  7. Time Trial
  8. Vertigo
  9. Tweak Dat Nip
  10. Outrun
  11. Soaking Method
  12. Hold-up

There’s only two things in my mind after listening to this album. Can I have more? And Please come to the UK.

Volutes releases 8th May in the UK.


About Author