April 23, 2024

Maximo Park – Album Release Date Announced

Maximo Park have announced the release date for their sixth studio album ‘Risk To Exist’, it will be available from the 21st April.

The North East indie giants have recently had their newest single played on the 6Music Show by Steve Lamacq.

In their latest single, the band uses more keyboard work than on other work. Rather than a focus on guitars and riffs – it’s more attentive to the keyboard, but still includes the same old use of riffs. The drums are what introduces the song, but nearing the middle there’s three or four keyboard sounds in there. The sound of the song reminds you of being a festival, so surely they’ve got to announce some festival dates soon?

Paul explains: “The album is, ultimately, about empathy. Some songs are simple messages of solidarity and others are fuelled by anger at the elitist, established order of British society. There’s a questioning of power throughout and a feeling that there must be a different way of structuring our society in order to alleviate inequality. Musically, the songs reflect more soulful and groove-based influences, allowing more space in the arrangements than ever before. The central idea is to align great pop melodies with songs that reflect the state of the nation.”


They have released the track listing as well:

  1. What Did We Do To You To Deserve This?
    2. Get High (No, I Don’t)
    3. What Equals Love?
    4. Risk to Exist
    5. I’ll Be Around
    6. Work And Then Wait
    7. The Hero
    8. The Reason I Am Here
    9. Make What You Can
    10. Respond To The Feeling
    11. Alchemy


About Author